top of page

Last Thought at Night

Updated: Feb 18, 2019


Can you take back the anger?

You poured it down my throat

– can you please take it back?

I think it’s poisoned my soul.


Cracked away at the smile.

Smiling used to be easy,

did you know that I used

to say that I loved you?


Anger like vile bile in my throat.

I don’t think it’s fair that you still

love me. Besides, even if you do;

anger has replaced the love I

once had exclusively for you.


Can you take back the anger?

You rubbed it into the wounds

where once you would lay flowers,

now there only lies half-empty


love


Can we take back the anger?

The things that I said, I didn’t

mean it. I think I’m better off

dead.


Can we take back the anger?


Written by Jess Wilmot

Jess is a writer, performer and superhero enthusiast. Her passion for the pen was realised in Year Two, when Jess wrote ‘The Three Little Pigs’ in the mother’s point of view, in which Mother Pig was in the midst of a passionate affair with the Big Bad Wolf. She’s currently developing her performance poetry passion in the Leicester/Nottingham scenes.

Contact her using JessWillmott_Writer@outlook.com



66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page