top of page

The shadow of doubt

Entire body

In flames and ice

A mixture of confusion

With me in the middle.


Its dusty scent fills lungs like tar

Its smells like everything

And nothing.


The shadow of doubt grips at shoulders

And pinches

And laughs at your thoughts

And lives in them.

And your dreams

And behind the fridge door when it makes you jump

Because you dropped something out

And your heart is racing

Because it lives inside everything you touch and feel

And every strangers gaze

That makes your stance shift.


It sounds like an eerie silence

And a slight whistle in your ear

That is out of sync

With your scattered heartbeat.


It was born in the disappointed book of your primary school teachers

And the birth of your self doubt

Escapes

And wont die.


It says everything

That your are not

And disregards your talents

For wasted breath.



Written by Rosella Hazeldine - 19

"I have always wanted to write, ever since getting into trouble in year 7 for using all of my printing credits to print my collection of ghost stories which I'm certain no one read except my mum. Its so good to have a platform now where people can read my work"





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page